Piece Name


Artist's Statement

Since the early 2000s, my artwork has involved the creation of abstract paintings in which I try to find an art equivalent of the musical motion - both structurally and in color. This is why I call my work "Visual Music."

Musical forms, melodies, harmonies, textures, dynamics and tempos are all inspiration for my art. My palette follows the principle of contrast and repetition -- the paramount principle in musical compositions. Thus, I attempt to both create the connection between art and music and at the same time transcend the boundaries of these two cultural mediums.

Watch The Mural

In The Mural, I play the Second Movement, “Largo e mesto,” from Beethoven's Sonata No. 7, Op. 10, No. 3 while footage of myself and other artists painting a mural is juxtaposed.

Collection 1 - Symphony in 4 Movements - 2015

Symphony in 4 Movements is my latest work of my long-term project "Visual Music." The series consists of 30 digitally generated prints. The sequence follows the musical ideas and structures of the symphonic cycle. In this art score, I employ thematic development, thematic transformation and other methods common to classical music. I also employ the principles of musical form to structure the movements of the series.

The movements contrast one another, with each movement having a different character.

The first movement, "Motions," is intricate, pensive and somewhat polyphonic. It is composed in ternary form (the three-part form) (see the following excerpts).

Motion I Motion III Motion VII  

The second movement, "Pastorale," explores the world of nature and its colors and is structured in through-composed form. (see the following excerpts).

Flowers I - Cherry Blossom Flowers V - Sunflower Flowers VIII  

The third movement, Scherzo, is monochromatic and of a playful and sparkling character. I subtitle it "The Radiance of the Night." It is composed in ternary form. (see the following excerpts).

Scherzo I - Stars in Motion Series Scherzo III - Stars in Motion Series Scherzo IV - Stars in Motion Series  

The fourth movement, Finale, is joyful, optimistic and energetic, with the motion of color as the driving force of onward movement. It is composed in sonata form. (see the following excerpts).

Finale I - Kandinsky d'apres Symphony IV - Kandinsky Finale VII - Klimt d'apres  

As a progression of events, this symphonic cycle introduces the element of time into the art's two-dimensional space. At the same time, the audience can see the temporal process as one object in space. They can see each movement and the entire symphony as the whole, if they step back and observe it as one. Thus, the sequence creates the spacial-temporal structure, the space-time continuum, synergizing the space and time into the unified entity.

Collection 2 - Visual Music Work

Night Flowers Jeux d'eau (Ravel) Jeux d'eau (Ravel) Jeux d'eau (Ravel)
Night Flowers (Schumann) I Night Flowers (Schumann) II Vers la flamme (Scriabin) I Vers la flamme (Scriabin) II
Jeux d'eau (Ravel) Jeux d'eau (Ravel) Jeux de vagues (Debussy) Impromptu
Agitato Jeux d'eau (Ravel) Jeux de vagues (Debussy) Impromptu
Jeux d'eau (Ravel) The Firebird (Stravinsky) Kaleidoscope Triptych
Impromptu Mysterioso The Firebird (Stravinsky) Kaleidoscope Triptych


MIHAW Center, New York. September-December (solo).

The Museum of Russian Art, Jersey City, NJ. March

25 CPW Gallery, New York. May
BoConcept, Dumbo, Brooklyn, NY. May-June

Brooklyn Conservatory of Music, New York. November (solo)
The TNC Gallery, New York City. May-June
A featured artist in the Spring 2008 issue of the Journal of Esoteric Psychology.

The C. Booth Library, Newtown, Connecticut.
The C. Booth Library, Newtown, Connecticut (solo)

Lexington Gardens, Newtown, Conn.